CONVERSATION ABOUT “A TEACHER’S OATH”

I got a text from a student who was in class with me a few years ago. It started a brief texting conversation in which he almost played the straight man.  Some of it went like this:

“Hey, Dr. Schmier.  It’s been a long time.  About to graduate this Spring and head out…I just read your ‘A Teacher’s Oath.’  Interesting stuff.  Where did this come from?”

“It had been bubbling inside me for quite a while. The Lilly South conference on teaching I had attended last February finally sucked it out of me.  Then, I tweaked it on the advice of a few people whom I highly respect.  I’ll send you a new copy.  It goes deeper than those ‘Rules of the Road’ that was in the syllabus.

“Does it work?  Oops, stupid question. I was in your class and it has stayed with me and others all this time.  So, I know it works.  But, what I really mean, and why I’m texting you, do you think it can and will it work for me when I to into the classroom?”

“That all depends on you.  Why do I want it to work?  Will I work at it?  Those are the questions you should ask yourself.  Now, before you say anything, I’ll say that it’s not easy or simple or quick.  And, there’s nothing automatic about it.  It’s not a magic incantation from Harry Potter.  Ideas, ideals, visions, attitude, spirit, and whatever don’t suddenly appear full fledged.  They enter the world as struggling hatchlings from peoples’ heart, souls, and heads. They cannot survive without constant care and nurturing. They feed on passion and purpose;  and, they grow and mature because of your full attention, patience, and action.  That’s what it takes to make visions leave the nest and fly.  Sometimes I think it’s not the idea that makes people great, but people who make the idea great.  The Oath will work as long as you believe it works, you work on it, and you let it work on you. Swearing to the words counts as making a promise of purpose, which counts as a ‘caring contract’ with yourself and each student, which becomes a way of the thinking, feeling and doing of your teaching.  At the beginning, during the middle, and in the end, you have one choice: do you or don’t you want to become the Oath.  It’s really both that simple and complicated because once you make that choice, you have a map that leads to the treasure.  But, it’s useless if you merely store it in the attic trunk.  You’ve got to follow the directions, walk the paces, dig up the treasure, and use it.  When you do that, you will endow your teaching with what might have called an heroic and spiritual quality.

“Teaching?  Heroic and spiritual?”

“Sure.  Hey, you’re going to face more than a few inner and outer dragons.  When I talk about the Oath, I’m talking about at least courage, conviction and integrity.  What I am saying is that everything you feel, think, and do would be measured against the extent you have unconditonal, UNCONDITIONAL, faith in each student, hope for each student, love of each student, empathy of each student, and compassion for each student–and, helping them to get and live those attitudes about themselves.  That’s what I call spiritual because to me spiritual means practicing the art surrendering to what is.   What is, is the sacredness, nobility, worthiness, uniqueness of each human being on our campus.  I mean, the Oath is an audacious vision that everyone has the ability to live, but not many have the courage live.  You have to give up a bunch of preconceptions, beliefs, preferences, assumptions, priorities, and practices that are in the way.   You have to be ready to mean it, and, in thick or thin, to stick by it and do it.  No convenient and rationalizing conditional ifs, ands, or buts.  UNCONDITIONAL!! If you do, it will give you the moxie, the chutzpah, the pluck, the dedication, the commitment, the determination, the strength, the endurance, the perseverance to live it, as well as the humility to feel its all for something greater than me.  It will keep reminding you that you’re a candle that doesn’t burn for yourself alone.  It’s heroic because every obstacle, rather than bringing you down, lifts you up as you lift yourself over it. Trust me, it will draw out greater qualities that lie deep within your character than you never thought existed, and there will be no stopping you to strive to make the most of yourself and others.  Then, slowly you  will begin to find the strength and courage you didn’t think you had to live the Oath in the face of testing rejection, cynicism, criticism, attack, and downright opposition.”

“But, it has to drain you after a while.  The time you spend.  I mean all that energy that it seems to constantly take to stay on top of things!  Man, you can easily give out….”

“Sure it soaks up time and demands a lot of sweat, but what significant thing doesn’t.  And, no, I don’t get drained.  Just the opposite.  You breathe in deeply, filling your senses with the fresh, cool sweetness of each moment.  It’s like catching energy.  You use some energy to generate a lot more energy.  But, if you don’t ‘get the goods,’ like a lot of people, you use more energy than you generate.  That’s when you get drained, resigned, frustrated, apathetic, frustrated, disillusioned, and burnt out.  Living the Oath, being the Oath, doesn’t allow that.  You don’t get worn out because each time you see it helping you to make a difference it’s a shot of ‘wow.’   You get stronger because it not only gives you a sense of your ‘self,’ it serves as a witness to your higher ‘self.’  It becomes your “true north,” your moral guide, your ‘inner guide.’  It heightens my “otherness,” intensifies my “awareness,” and deepens my “mindfulness.” That allows me read the clues in the ‘puzzle-full’ class and not miss the details.  In another way, living the Oath is constant fuel that fuels the flame and prevents burnout.”

“….But, it can get old and dull after a while, can’t it?

“Old?  How can it get old when each day you wake up with a ‘yes’ to a new day feeling blessed to just be here; knowing what a great day it is; knowing that the ultimate sin is not to unwrap the present presented to you by the present; knowing there is work to be done, wonders to behold, artistry to appreciate, fascinating people with whom to connect, lives to be touched, differences to be made, possibilities to be fulfilled.  Dull?  It’s all self-sharpening.  Nothing is a ho-hum ‘just another.’ No moment is ordinary.  Nothing is mundane.  A kind word, a helpful act, some real patience and understanding only adds to the day’s brightness.  You’re constantly energizing and revitalizing yourself.

“Hey, come on.  Don’t tell me you don’t get frustrated.”

“You mean does shit happen?  Sure.  I may not love what a student does or doesn’t do.  I may be disappointed or saddened by it.  But, I don’t stop loving her or him.  That’s where empathy come in.  But, shit does happen!  You can’t stop that.  So, what are you going to do when it does.  Let it bother you?  Let it shackle you?  Let it stop you?  Let it determine how you think and feel and act?  It won’t if you know its just shit, that it’s going to be coming, just accept it as such, don’t dwell on it or let it distract and deter you.  Instead, you accept imperfection.  You see it as a learning moment, learn from it, slog through it, and go on, keeping your mind and heart open and free.  Living the Oath, then, accentuating the positive but not ignoring the negative, keeps you keeping on.  It keeps you from random, meaningless groping.  It gets you up when you get knocked down.  It keeps you from being pushed around.  It keeps you balanced.  It keeps you focused so that you “stay the course.”  In a sense, it’s a spiritual and emotional teacher.  You see you have what it takes to slog through it.  The values embedded in it lets you parry all the thrusts, put up with all the static, and makes all the noise tolerable.  It lets you smile at life even when it doesn’t smile at you.  With it you turn a dreary day into a day filled with sunny promise.  It’s the key to your ultimate inner peace and happiness.

“You live the Oath.”

“I struggle to, but you’ve got to.  You can completely control the way you perceive, respond, and adapt to people and things around you under the influence of those perceptions.  So, I’ve written down my values, read them each day, share them, and am struggling to live a life that matches who I have decided I am and want to become.  The Oath becomes a way of teaching.  After a while, no other way occurs to you.  It becomes the “why,” of the “what” and “how” of your story. It becomes your underlying spirit.  And, you become its avatar, that transformation of your vision and values into flesh. I’ve said this over and over and over again to a lot of people.  Your control over your perspective makes all the difference.  There is goodness, there is beauty, there is love and joy and boundless opportunity when you choose to see it.  It’s in Proverbs:  “as he thinks in his heart, so he is.”   I’ll paraphrase a Zen master who said that you can’t separate the person from the teacher.  We teach who we are; we are the perceptions we have; we are the questions we ask. Wherever we go, whatever we think and feel, whatever we do, there we are.  And for me, I am intensely and excitedly conscious of the fact that the flowers of tomorrow are the seeds of today.”

“You’re quoting Scripture and Zen?  Now, don’t get me wrong.  Isn’t this what some around here would knock as impractical, that New Age or  ‘touchy-feely’ or airy fluff?”

“New Age?  Fluff?  Impractical?  It’s sound.  It’s sensible.  It’s feet on the ground stuff.  It’s a practical way to feel and behave if we want the students to be more confident, have more self-esteem, be more independent learners, make sounder decisions, and achieve more.  Heck, anyone can transmit information to students in a day to be regurgitated on another day in a test as if they were a bolemic.  But, if you can teach that person to believe in herself or himself, if you can instill a courage to take risks, if you can teach that person to see there is no failure in failure if you learn from failure, if you can help them make sound social and personal and professional decisions, if you can help that person to see her or his potential, if you can teach her or him to learn by creating curiosity, imagination, creativity, connection, and relevance, that person will be a more productive, well-behaved, more ethical student for as long as she or he lives.  So, it’s in everyone’s interest to make the classroom the best it can be so that each student has the opportunity to be whoever she or he is capable of becoming.  Anyway, it’s at the core of and as old as every religion and philosophy on Earth.  It’s called the Golden Rule.  We should demand that each student be treated with dignity and respect, and when this doesn’t happen, we should be outraged.  New?  Heck, what’s new about all this, is that I’m quoting the latest physiological, psychological, and sociological science!”

“‘A Teacher’s Oath’ is based on all those sciences, too?”

“Yep.  But, that’s the rest of the story.  We’ll talk more later if you want.  Gotta run.”

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *