WE ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMY

      I’m still in a “Susan Boyle-ish” mood; I’m getting into the groove as I get myself psyched up for a two day workshop on collegiate teaching at Lethbridge University; as a cancer survivor, I’m still feeling the warmth and humanity of all those smiling and cheering students on the front lawn of my campus last night who gave up their precious study time for upcoming final papers and exams to give their love and time for the Cancer Society’s Relay For Life; and, so, I’m about to get myself into trouble. But, I’ve been hearing and reading, as I always do at this end-of-term time, many a sighing getting-ready-for-the-end-of-the-semester-paper-reading-exam-giving-final grade-compilation-crunch comments from my head-shaking colleagues here on campus and across the internet world. So, having gotten into my protective suit of Kevlar, here goes.

 

     So many of us academics just love to pretend that they’re so clinically objective, that the physical and academic appearance of students don’t matter and don’t influence their thoughts, feelings, actions, or judgments. Well, the truth is that they do. We’re all human, and there isn’t an objective bone in our body. When it comes to academics far too many of us are crotchety, intellectual, and academic snobs. We turn our backs and let so many students drown in an ocean of “they’re not worth it,” “what’s the use,” “they let me down,” “they can’t,” “they don’t know how,” “they don’t want to,” “they’re disappointing,” “in my day,” “when I was a student,” etc, etc, etc. It’s always something, and I’m not sure most of it is either nonsense about appearance or a reflection of our disinclination to devote the demanding time and effort to the needs of students away from the demands of our precious research, publication, and quest for tenure or promotion. So, the academic culture is the height of ambivalence between proclaimed objectivity and lived subjectivity, from the rare adoring surprise when one minute a “don’t belong” demonstrates she or he does and turning away with disdain just as easily the next minute when so many seemingly prove that they don’t. For so many of us, struggle, overcoming, improvement, growth, progress, process, and change in a student aren’t enough; raising an F or a D to a C or low B isn’t enough; being a consistently “C student” isn’t enough.

      So many of us want academic novae; so many of us want students and their transcripts to look the intellectual part. We adore and reward the academically drop-dead-easy-to-teach-wow 10s; we ignore and shun the down-and-dirty-got-to-work-hard-at-ugh 2s, 3s, and 4s, and tell them to drop dead. Most us want students to have an academic “sizzle” that we can brag about in our annual evaluations and institutional reports. Achievement is in GPAs, titles, scholarships, and recognitions. It is not in a student’s struggle to find a way or to find her or his way. After all, isn’t that why so many of us are impressed with those students who have the adjective, “honors,” or this and that “scholar” describing them? That stuff is easy to “market” in both academic and non-academic circles. So many of us just don’t go for the challenging or resisting intellectual and academic ugly ducklings, and don’t believe there is a swan lucking inside them. So many of us aren’t inclined to nurse the fallen sparrows.

      Don’t so many of us so often make that first impression, snap judgment correlation between appearance and talent, transcript and potential, grades and learning as so many of us once did–and regrettably sometimes still do–with skin color, religion, ethnicity, and gender? Don’t so many of us find it easier and less demanding to hone accomplishment in the already accomplished than to prospect for, dig for, haul out, sweat over, cut, and polish the raw stone into a gleaming jewel? And when students don’t live up to the mythology of our correlation, when they have frumpy transcripts or shabby appearances or drab performances, we more often than not “dis-” them; we engage in ways so that they are disheartened and disillusioned; we act in ways so that they are disrespected, dismissed, disenfranchised, disregarded, disengaged, and dis-just-about-everything-else; they’re treated as academically and intellectually unworthy, unkempt, unnoticed, unwanted, unclean, unglamorous, unfashionable, unattractive, uncouth, unfortunate, unknown and un-just-about-everything-else.

     But, in all of this, who is unattractive? That struggling student? Or us? Who should be ashamed? That beseeching student? Or us? Who is breaking the promise? That promising student? Or us? Why can’t each of these students dream? Why don’t we allow them to dream? Why don’t we help them follow their dreams? Why don’t we help them achieve their dreams? Instead, too many of us engage in the academic version of abuse, derision, demeaning, laughter, smirking, mocking, weeding out, grinding into the dust; we direct energy away from our heart and soul, and too often sap theirs. Pogo was right. We are our own enemy.

      We need the courage to split the sea of smug; we need the courage to treat each and every student as a sacred some body; we need the courage to have goose bumps when we engage with each student; we need the courage to sustain our wonder of each and every student; we need the courage to maintain our euphoria for each and every student; we need the courage to draw out stirring creativity and imagination in those “don’t belongs;” we need the courage to find talent and ability in those “they’re letting anyone ins;” we need the courage to develop the raw and unique potential in the unlikeliest of people.

     It would help if each day we all read and lived John 7:24 and, my favorite biblical passage, Micah 6:8.

 

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

One thought on “WE ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMY

  1. What I have found more than anything is that professors dislike students who know anything. They want to pour water into empty pots. And when the pots prove they’re not empty, professors dismiss them as troublesome. And of course they feel threatened if students know more than they do about a given topic. They won’t engage students intellectually or even emotionally because they confuse objectivity with sterility.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *