Soft Teaching, IV

You know, Cicero said nothing people do that more approaches the gods than being a healer. I don’t think “soft teachers” are far behind. “Soft teaching” is a pledge, a moral act, a value system, a covenant, an ongoing connection, and a “we” consciousness. “Soft teaching” at its core is really about both the flourishing and the transformation of both teacher and student, for the “soft teacher” teaches in a way that brings out the better person in both teacher and student. “Soft teachers” unconditionally love each student not because they want to teach those students, but because they’re loving people. They buy an “all in,” not letting frustration, resentment, and anger dominate their awareness and skew their vision. Their attitudes aren’t skewed by negative preconceptions, generalities, stereotypes, and labels. They just respect and serve whomever enters the classroom. They are nurturers, not weeders. They know that if you want to retain and prepare all students for the future, you have to have a strong caring classroom that enables all students to thrive in it. I found “soft teaching” is a stronger force than academic elitism, proud ego, and self-interest—far more than renown, resume, title, and position. It brings out the deepest happiness, joy, meaning, and purpose. Like I said, “soft teaching” is neither for softies nor pessimists.

You see, to be a “soft teacher,” you have to pass “optimism” and “loving” tests before you can pass over the classroom’s threshold. Your guiding principles have to be empathy and student wellbeing. It takes strength and courage, reinforced by purpose to step back, take a deep breath, and leave negative feelings and thoughts behind. As Abraham Maslow said, it’s easy to stay with safety, but it’s hard to go daringly forward. It’s hard to let go of limiting preconceptions, biased thinking, and fixed feelings. It’s hard to fight the tendency to label others quickly on the basis of superficialities like GPAs. It’s hard to understand some of the dynamics that are happening beneath the surface that come up to the surface in vocal tones, facial expressions, and body language. It’s hard to reject previously held anecdotal evidence that told you your attitudes were warranted. It’s hard to ask yourself honestly, “How much of my attitude toward students is really about my lens on them?” It’s just downright hard to both learn and unlearn. But, what would happen to the environment within you if you brought into the classroom that wonderful feeling of just being alive, of delighting in living, of seeing an extraordinary, staggering, pulsating, sacred, nobility in each person? What would happen if you greeted each person with breathtaking awe? Just think of the smile that would be put on your face every day. Just think of the dance it would put in your step every day. Just think of the fire it would feed every day. That is what I discovered “soft teaching” can do for both teacher and student.

I know. It all happened to me. There I was, in the mid-point of my academic career, an accomplished researching and publishing scholar of some renown—until my epiphany in 1991. In that unexpected and unplanned sudden moment, I zoomed in on who I was at the moment and who I wanted to be in the moments to come. It was an inner upheaval of earthquake proportions that broke the imprinting chains of past personal experiences. I slowly, cautiously, over the years I took those dark memories I brought up from the dark recesses of my soul and made them into a personal story that made sense of my ongoing transformation. It wasn’t something I just figured out or admitted; it was literally a hard to explain feeling of talking myself into a new perception of the world. I learned to draw on the power of love, the power of caring, the power of commitment, the power of perseverance, the power of commitment to myself, the power of faith in myself, the power of hope for myself, and the power of loving myself. I started going from a need to be important and to impress to doing important things, from wanting to look good to doing good works. My first priority shifted from lengthening my resume to developing my inner self. To my surprise, I discovered that deep sense of accomplishment and satisfaction lay in those few moments I tore myself away from thinking about my scholarship, focused on a student in the classroom, and felt myself come alive. The classroom, I had to admit, was the place where I really felt a breathless purpose. That’s where I came to decide to lay my values and my identity. I had to admit that I wasn’t truly getting fulfillment in both my professional and personal life from my books, articles, grants or conference papers. I always felt and knew, though I did not admit it until that moment, that I was being driven to please and cater to others. It was when my search for meaning, for my own reality, abruptly took me out from archive and into the classroom, when I did a “meaning self-appraisal” and a “purpose self-evaluation,” when I consequently broke free from doing what was expected of me and from what I was told I was supposed to do, when I saw I was really in the people business as much as, if not more, in the information transmission and skill development business, when I went cold turkey on scholarly research and publication, and when I voluntarily turned to the classroom whole hog to transform from a researching and publishing scholarly professor to an intensely student-loving teacher.

Over the decades, I’ve discovered several things about what I am now calling “humanization by ‘soft teaching.’” First, to paraphrase Emerson, a person’s opinion of students is a confession of her or his character. We all infuse into thoughts, feelings, spoken words, and actions a sense of who we are, what someone called, a feeling of your spirit or soul. So, it was and is with me. The development of “soft teaching,” revealed a lot about who I was—my fears, my needs, my fallibilities, unimaginable imagination, incalculable opportunities, unexplored potential, hidden truths, untapped strength and courage—and who I could be. Second, I learned that my past, like anyone else’s, was not my potential; it was not a determinate of my future; I was. So, as I no longer needed to hold on to fixed views—including judgments I had about myself, other people, and the world—I could see and listen to fresh and new faces coming on campus every day and every term. In my own little world of the classroom, I could deal with the dilemma of retention by converting what might be called a “crisis of weeding out” with a “blessing of caring and nurturing.” Third, it’s an identity wrestling match: between the researching and publishing scholar and the classroom servant teacher; between focusing on student limitations and concentrating on student potentials; between seeing education as a business of information transmissions and skill development business on one hand and seeing it as a people business on the other; between minimal involvement with students and maximum engagement to them. Fourth, it’s an adventurous venturing out from the accepted, comfortable, known, and safe, as uncertain and scary as that is. Fifth, I’ve found a practicality in “soft teaching.” “Soft eyes,” “soft ears,” and “soft heart” slowed me down and put me into the conscious “now” of things. It makes you to “pay attention,” and you discover that anything you do is improved by paying full attention to it. It is the most basic way to connect with my inner self and with another person. Studies show that attention is one way the brain answers the question, “Is this worthwhile?” Sixth, it changed the way I moved among the students. It gave me a high. I felt feel wonder awaken inside me. I was awed. I thought and felt anew. I noticed my thoughts and feelings daringly moving from the information in lecture notes to the person of the student. My imagination was sparked. I became malleable and adaptable to that student I saw and listened to details or perspectives that I never noticed before or maybe even chose to ignore. Seventh, that slowing down revealed the complexity in the classroom that defies simplistic and distorting stereotyping, generalizing, and labelling. It helped me see myself and students in gentle technicolor instead of stark black and white. That made me more tender towards everyone, marvel how often so many students rose to the occasions far beyond their expectations. And, I learned not to be frustrated and resentful, though sad, when things don’t go right and don’t work. And finally, someone said that you cannot truly appreciate the glory of life until you’ve experienced and acknowledge life’s dark side. Similarly, I’m not sure you can practice the golden rule until you polish your own tarnished self. As Benjamin Disraeli said, “There is no better education like adversity.” Some of the most valuable experiences I’ve had—my epiphany, cancer, and cerebral hemorrhage—were not the most enjoyable, not the most painless, not the most comfortable, not the easiest to deal with, and not the least challenging.

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *