Proverbs 4:23, Part IV

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life.”

You know, all my degrees, titles, positions, publications, workshops, and grants don’t approach being all there is of me. They are only a part of my being. They sure aren’t the whole of my wholeness. In fact, they are the least of me, for we all, as James Allen said, are great or small according to our controlling desires or dominant aspirations. Our unconditional faith, hope, and love for both ourselves and others should be a dais for being the larger person.

The academic culture, which puts up distancing, disconnecting, and disinteresting walls and barriers of disheartening “objectivity,” that focuses on credentialing, that almost promotes a social phobia, that doesn’t recognize education as a “people business,” however, has not caught up with the research on teaching and learning. Just one example is Stanford’s Clifton Parker and Gregory Watson who found that a central tenet of teaching is to build an empathic-mindset in teachers, if for no other reason than empathy, a better understanding of and relationships with each student, a compunction to be kind, better connects the teacher with each student, supports and encourages the teacher and each student, and improves the teacher’s and each student’s behavior and performance. I was recently reminded by three students I chanced to meet separately over the last few days, who had been in class with me that last fall semester before I retired, that the great feat of making a difference comes from one’s humanity within, from making an altruistic commitment of serving others, not from a self-centered lengthening of a resume, getting a promotion, achieving tenure, or acquiring more zeros on our salary.

By seeing and listening to students through a moral lens that reveals our own human quirks, habits, faults, and fears, we are better able to be empathetic to the faults and fears of others; we can stand in their shoes; and, although we may not agree with them, we can perceive the world through their eyes; and, we can appreciate and validate their point of view. When, with a certainly, we judge, abstract, stereotype, generalize, or label the individual and unique humanity out of students, however, we leave ourselves little room for faith, hope, love, respect, kindness, and caring for each. Only by being honest with our own story, can we really begin to understand what other may be going through. While we need to see ourselves clearly, that doesn’t mean we obsess over our faults; it means we learn from them and about others. Trust me, that is not an easy task, and it can be at first painful.

To do this, as the Zen saying goes, we must simultaneously sit and rake the garden. Outside and inside the classroom, we must quiet our mind, stop and listen, stop and see, soften our spirit, and open our heart. To discover ourself and others is, as this proverb says, loving self-kindness, and we sense the need for connection to help others do the same; we offer because others are part of us and what we are doing. To put it in classroom terms, there is no teacher without a student and no student without a teacher. They go hand-in-hand. Then, we will have learned to see the hidden beauty in the ordinary. As Rumi said, “There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.” I say there are as many ways as there are students in a classroom. We will nurture new energies, leave worn and accepted paths, strike out on new ones and help others do likewise, and still feel comfortable and safe. We will see beyond the sights; listen beyond the sounds; go behind and between the words and body movements; notice the pregnant silence. We will become intensely interested; become curious; pay attention; shun assumption and presumption; slowly walk rather than jump to conclusions; anticipate less. We’ll be receptive to surprise and delight; seize on the unpredictable; notice the unique; go for potential; we see into the future and imagine what can become. To do all this are acts of faith, hope, and love; they’re acts of respect and of giving a damn; they imbue individual dignity, nobility, and sacredness. If we know her or him, if we know her or his story. If we know a few peculiarities about a student, then, it is hard, almost impossible, to do a life-sucking-out assault on her or his sacredness, to jump to conclusions and rush to judgment, and turn her or him into a flattened, lifeless anonymity of abstraction, stereotype, generality, or label. When we do that, as these three students just reminded me, we will be surrounded by a field of exciting possibilities. And, then, you enjoy it all.

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life.”

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *