….And I Don’t Know How

I was watching Tennis’ U.S. Open this weekend, hearing the cheers and applause, watching the adolation for these accomplished atheletes by people sitting in a brand new stadium. At times, I thought about the 3/4 million in prize money, the millions in endorsements,the adolation, high salaries, and other unimaginable social and financial perks.

And, then I saw a saddening piece on Sunday Morning talking about teaching as if it was a vow of poverty and teachers as if they were unappreciated, taken-for-granted missionary workers or Peace Corps volunteers.

Ah me…..

We should be building each of our schools like majestic palaces;

We should be creating exciting and inspiring classroom environment;

We should be adoring and respecting our teachers like heroic professionals;

We should be competing with business for the brightest and best with high five and six figure salaries; to pursue, attract, invest in and keep teachers;

We should be seeing that each child is an invaluable national treasure and piece of the future

……and I don’t know how to do all that.

Make it a good day.

–Louis–

Comments are closed.