Proverbs 4:23, Part I

Sometimes, what I call those “you just don’t ask” happenings occur in rapid fire succession. First, there was a simple June 14th FaceBook message from a student who was in class over 20 years ago, part of which read, “I’m at this crossroads….If you have the time I’d love to chat with you.” I made the time. I called. We talked. The next day, as if by kismet, came a David Brook’s New York Times column called “The Building Blocks of Education” that talked about the need to bring back into the classroom emotion that had been driven underground by reason. And finally, Monday, the 20th, there were the parents, whose three sons were in class with me decades ago, who came up to me while Susie and I were at a workshop for her hearing aides. “After all these years, they still talk of how you changed their lives,” the mother said of her sons. All this reminded me of something Elie Wiesel said, “We must not see any person as an abstraction. Instead, we must see in every person a universe with its own secrets, with its own treasures, with its own sources of anguish, and with some measure of triumph.”

After the workshop, when I got home, I put it all together. I went to one passage from Brooks’ column that struck me. Drawing on recent research, the key factor in the classroom, he said, is the unconditional and “essential love between a teacher and a student: the teacher’s willingness to pour time, attention and care into the student.” Love!! He ended his column with these resonating words: “Today we have to fortify the heart if we’re going to educate the mind.” Fortify the heart!!

Reading some of the student’s message to me, I thought to myself, “How true. God, I’ve been ‘writing’ Brooks’ column for years; that has been at the core of my vision; and, that has been the underpinnings for all I have thought, felt, and done for decades. “The heart of education is an education of the heart” and “The absence of heart is the greatest aliment of education.” I went over these sentences time and time and time again. They flashed across my mind in rapid fire like a moving neon banner sign. On that infrastructure, too often shattered into smithereens by far too many academics using the jackhammers of impersonalizing stereotype and generalization, inattention and disinterest, rests faith and hope. It creates such an important enveloping atmosphere needed to be deeply inhaled so schooling and credentialing can be alchemize into education. I looked up above me, taped to a shelf above me was a passage from Proverbs 4:23: “Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life.”

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life.”

Neat words. They mean it’s all about attitude, attitude, attitude. Beliefs have the power to create. But, alas, the building blocks of learning–faith, hope, and love–have been blocked from being used. The power of character of perseverance and curiosity and imagination and optimism, has been dissipated. Emotions, especially self-worth and love, have been driven from the classroom. The requirement of self-esteem has little classroom esteem. To think of love in the classroom is unthinkable. Dealing with debilitating stress is not stressed. The need for connection has been disconnected. Belonging isn’t a consideration that belongs in the classroom. Paying attention to each and every student doesn’t get much of the attention of academics. The mindset messages of how students conceive themselves and their purpose have been set aside and are of no mind to most professors. Grit has been sanded smooth.

We academics are good at academics, at transmitting information, and at credentialing. We are terrible, however, at constructing a necessary character base. That’s what the research findings of Harvard’s Ronald Fryer has said. The gist of this research, supported by the earlier work of Ed Deci, Carol Dweck, Barbara Fredrickson, and others is that you can’t buy or bribe students with rewards and punishments system of grades or GPAs. Students are not really motivated, much less inspired, by what is called these “external motivators.” Reattaching amputated love does. Reconnecting the connection does. Caring about students, unconditionally caring, does. Those emotions, too often driven underground inspire students to care about themselves, to believe in themselves, to have confidence in themselves, to have hope for themselves. Bathing students in love tends to wash away their grimy, isolating and debilitating sense of aloneness, loneliness, and hopelessness. Bathing students in love tends to soothe their anxiety.

So, I argue that an education of the intellect without a comparable education the spirit is both mindless and heartless. It is setting both students up with an inability to deal with mistake and to see error as failure; it is not helping anyone to learn to resiliently regurgitate sadness, anger, and fear. It renders everyone fragile and paralyzed with a sense of worthlessness. The paralyzing anxiety students feel, the atrophying is detrimental to giving and receiving an education. I tell you, from the research and from constant experience, that bathing students in strong connections of love will wash them with senses of belonging, worth, confidence, faith, and hope. Love is the source of attention, of noticing, of valuing unconditionally each student. This doesn’t happen with posters, with sloganeering, or with high-sounding mission statements. It happens with genuine intent resting on genuine perception, unconditional perception, that each student can succeed, that each student is worth caring about, that each student should be noticed, that each student can be creative, imaginative. It happens when each teacher genuinely lives the first tenet of my “Teacher Oath”: “I will give a damn about each person in the class! I will care! I will support! I will encourage! I won’t just mouth it. I will live it! Each day.”

There’s more, but that’s for later.

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *