RANDOM THOUGHT: LIVING

Someone just asked me what my most important learning experience was.  Without a hesitation, I quickly answer, “My cerebral hemorrhage!  Every day it hits me square between the eyes.  By all that is right, I shouldn’t be here with you.  I feel I’m living on borrowed time.  It’s been over three years, I still haven’t really come to terms with the fact that I am a walking 5% miracle when the other 95% are either dead or vegetables.  I am truly thankful to be not only alive, but feel deeply obligated to use my time to make this place a better one.  You see, though I was physically unscathed, I did not survive unaffected.”   I went on to tell her that suffering a cerebral hemorrhage, however, contained gifts and life lessons for me.  Nearly dying taught me that death can come at any minute, in any way. We do not know what is in store tomorrow, or, whether there is a tomorrow, or even a tonight!  But still, we have been presented with the the golden present of now, and it is greatest of sins not to open that gift and use it to its fullest extent.  This moment, now, we are alive and kicking.  Each day I live is precious.  I take nothing for granted.  I don’t let much get me down from my high or holding me down from getting on a high.  I don’t lie down; I keep moving; I keep fighting; I keep learning; I keep growing; I keep change.  I’ve learned how to live.

“You know the holidays have come and gone.  Most people say there is anything on the calendar for a while other than a bunch of ordinary days.  How wrong they are.  There is today:  today, with all its uniqueness, beauty, richness, blessing, goodness, tenderness, and potential.  There isn’t a darn thing ordinary about today.  Just that one outlook has the power to change my life and those of others.” I explained.  “As I’ve slowly dealt with it, it’s been interesting to see how increasingly unimportant my academic titles and scholarly resume are to me, and how much more important each of you are to me.  I’ve concluded more than ever, more than when I had my epiphany twenty years ago, more than when I had cancer almost seven years ago, that the yard stick by which I or anyone else should and will evaluate my life isn’t tenure or title or dollars and cents or books and grants or conference presentations.  I will be measured by the individual people whose lives I’ve touched and in whose lives I’ve made a difference.”

So, nearly dying told me once again–no, it shouted to me–not to think about any level of individual prominence I may have or will achieve; not to focus going after any recognitions.  No, I should concentrate on helping individuals help themselves to become better people.  I make and, more importantly, live my resolution to live every day so that in the end my life will be judged a success. More than having had survived cancer, surviving that cerebral hemorrhage, has taught–commanded–me to live with a thankful and loving heart; to live deeply, intently, intensely, purposefully, and generously; to live a significant rather than an important life; to let a constant stream of goodness flow into my life, through me, and on to others.  I don’t let things get me down, or distract me, or consume me.  Even on stormy days, I see the sun shining above the clouds and appreciate the rains watering my flowers.   I constantly do such things as selecting and living my “word for the day”: to see it, feel it, accept it, and use it.  Today that word I arbitrarily chose is “nuture.”  That refreshing and energizing flow insures that for me each day is a beautiful day filled with possibilities, values, opportunities.  I’ve been hit with the truth that true richness doesn’t come from a grant check or a publication; it doesn’t come from a title or position; it doesn’t come from a salary.  Richness grows from the inside out.

I told them that as I laid in intensive neuro-ICU, Susan and my sons, and my dear friends, taught me that simply being a loving presence is a powerful gift.   When you sincerely admire beauty, you become more beautiful; when you appreciate, you become appreciated; when you’re kind and generous, you will be seen as kindly.  I found that in squarely facing my own fears and daring to ask of myself and others some of life’s most daunting questions, I experienced a profound clarity around my own life’s purpose.  That means, the way I live has an impact on the way I way I am effects how they see me; how they see me ripples out to how they act; and how they act affects others.  It’s that rippling thing. The choices I make shape my day.  I let the goodnesses of life accumulate within me.  And, so, life’s riches grow for me.  My role as a teacher, then, is not to be merely someone who’s there just to fill them with information, but to humbly accompany and help them walk their own unique path and unfold for themselves their own beauty and goodness, even in the face of fear, pain and uncertainty.

I finished telling her,” The cerebral hemorrhage taught me this:  empathize with each and all, love each and all, have faith in each and all, have hope for each and all, believe in each and all, and serve each and all–each and every moment.”

Louis

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts by Louis Schmier. Bookmark the permalink.

About Louis Schmier

LOUIS SCHMIER “Every student should have a person who wants to help him or her help himself or herself become the person he or she is capable of becoming, and I’ll be damned if I am ever going to let one human being fall through the cracks in my classes without a fight.” How about a snapshot of myself. But, what shall I tell you about me? Something personal? Something philosophical? Something pedagogical? Something scholarly? Nah, I'll dispense with that resume stuff. Since I believe everything we do starts from who we are inside, what we believe, what we perceive, and what we do is an extension of ourselves, how about if I first say some things about myself. Then, maybe, I can ease into other things. My name is Louis Schmier. The first name rhymes with phooey, the last with beer. I am a 76 year old - in body, but not in mind or spirit - born and bred New Yorker who came south in 1963. I met by angelic bride, Susie, on a reluctant blind date at Chapel Hill. We've been married now going on 51 years. We have two marvelous sons. One is a VP at Samsung in San Francisco. The other is an artist with food and is an executive chef at a restaurant in Nashville, Tn. And, they have given us three grandmunchkins upon whom we dote a bit. I power walk 7 miles every other early morning. That’s my essential meditative “Just to …” time. On the other days, I exercise with weights to keep my upper body in shape. I am an avid gardener. I love to cook on my wok. Loving to work with my hands as well as with my heart and mind, I built a three room master complex addition to the house. And, I am a “fixer-upper” who allows very few repairmen to step across the threshold. Oh, by the way, I received my A.B. from then Adelphi College, my M.A. from St. John's University, and my Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I have been teaching at Valdosta State University in Georgia since 1967. Having retired reluctantly in December, 2012, I currently hold the rank of Professor of History, Emeritus. I prefer the title, “Teacher”. Twenty-five years ago, I had what I consider an “epiphany”. It changed my understanding of myself. I stopped professoring and gave up scholarly research and publication to devote all my time and energy to student. My teaching has taken on the character of a mission. It is a journey that has taken me from seeing only myself to a commitment to vision larger than myself and my self-interest. I now believe that being an educator means I am in the “people business”. I now believe that the most essential element in education is caring about people. Education without caring, without a real human connection, is as viable as a person with a brain but without a heart. So, when I am asked what I teach, I answer unhesitatingly, “I teach students”. I am now more concerned with the students’ learning than my teaching, more concerned with the students as human beings than with the subject. I am more concerned with reaching for students than reaching the height of professional reputation. I believe the heart of education is to educate the heart. The purpose of teaching is to instill in all students genuine, loving, lifelong eagerness to learn and foster a life of continual growth and development. It should encourage and assist students in developing the basic values needed for learning and living: self-discipline, self-confidence, self-worth, integrity, honesty, commitment, perseverance, responsibility, pursuit of excellence, emotional courage, creativity, imagination, humility, and compassion for others. In April, 1993, I began to share ME on the internet: my personal and professional rites of passage, my beliefs about the nature and purpose of an education, a commemoration of student learning and achievement, my successful and not so successful experiences, a proclamation of faith in students, and a celebration of teaching. These electronic sharings are called “Random Thoughts”. There are now over 1000 of them floating out there in cyberspace. The first 185, which chronicles the beginnings of my journey, have been published as collections in three volumes, RANDOM THOUGHTS: THE HUMANITY OF TEACHING, RANDOM THOUGHTS, II: TEACHING FROM THE HEART, RANDOM THOUGHTS, III: TEACHING WITH LOVE, and RANDOM THOUGHTS, IV: THE PASSION OF TEACHING. The chronicle of my continued journey is available in an Ebook on Amazon's Kindle in a volume I call FAITH, HOPE, LOVE: THE SPIRIT OF TEACHING. There a few more untitled volumes in the works..

2 thoughts on “RANDOM THOUGHT: LIVING

  1. Pingback: Own Anything Louis | RANDOM THOUGHT: LIVING – The Random Thoughts of Louis Schmier | Weight Loss Secrets

  2. Thank you for your words. They were a precious reminder of what I believe but often fail to do – to appreciate life and live with an open heart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *